Cummins 5.0L Turbo Diesel Potential - Nissan Titan XD Forum
 20Likes

post #1 of 56 Old 01-12-2016, 12:19 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Cummins 5.0L Turbo Diesel Potential

So I've been reviewing the ISV 5.0 and wondering how much headroom they have built into this motor.

After a bit of research, I'm guessing not much. While I'm no mechanical engineer or diesel expert, I've been looking at all the info flowing around on the ISV.

You'll find quite a bit of the thought behind the M2("M Squared") Turbocharger here:
http://www.cumminsturbotechnologies....at_Dresden.pdf

As a reference this is how the M2 is laid out:

For Source, see Note 1
Light Green=Rotatory Turbine Control Housing and Low Pressure Turbine, Exhaust Side
Blue=High Pressure Turbine, Compressor Side
Yellow=Low Pressure Turbine, Compressor Side
Dark Green=Rotatory Turbine Control Valve Controller and Valve
Brown=High Pressure Compressor Bypass
Grey=High Pressure Turbine, Exhaust side, Outlet Piping

Firstly, I do believe they have done a very good job optimizing this engine.

The real challenge is meeting stringent emissions requirements while meeting goals for durability, power delivery, packaging and fuel economy.