Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 18' 5.0 with 35k miles, all stock. I read so many post's here and in FB groups about cranks snapping and pollution control hardware going out, etc. I am really thinking about upgrading but then that will affect my trade in when I get a new truck. I sell trailers for a living and I do pull a lot of trailers, the 5.0 does great for what I need out of it. Is the 5.0 that problematic? I really have no complaint about the truck, other than the small fuel tank. What does the PC stuff run when they do fail? I am really on the fence about the upgrade. It appears to run around 3k if I price it out correctly. I am looking at trading it in for a 5.6 truck but I doubt I would happy with its performance. I tried trading it in on a F250 and a Dodge 2500, the trade in these folks offered was laughable at best.
Like I said, I am the fence about this. On one hand, I read all this stuff and think I need to get rid of it. Then on the other hand, I think its just a very small percentage for the break downs.I really do enjoy my truck, it rides great, extremely comfortable. What are your thoughts on this subject?

·
482 Posts
Keep it. And put $$ aside for the next truck in 300k. The internet can make you crazy paranoid. You have a 100k warranty that is as good as any warranty. I have an early 16 with 65k on it. First year lots of little bugs now doing well for now. Knock on wood.

·
369 Posts
Keep it. It does what you want and does It well.

As my mother-in-law would saw "Don't Borrow Trouble."

The level of noise made on these forums about problems is greatly disproportionate to the number of problems that actually occur. Some people have problems and that sucks for sure, but there are a ton of these trucks out there just like yours, doing what they were made to do and happy to be doing it.