Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to put a aFe Power 49-46112-P Performance Exhaust System (5" from def back) and an aFe Power 50-76105 CIA with scoop on my truck. Will this help with my bad mileage? Im currently getting around 12.9 mpg(20%city 80%highway). I have already lifted the tuck 3" in front and 1.5" back. Also put on a set of 35" AT tires. I'm new to the diesel game so any advice would be handy. I also run diesel kleen additive. Love nissan, but looking for a little better mpg.

·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Before tire pressure is asked, it’s at 65 psi. No alignment issues and I just finished regen( went down to 10.5 mpg for a day)

·
1,044 Posts
If you really are running 80% highway use for your combined driving, it really should be a higher return on your MPG, something more like 17. Unless your highway speeds are 90+ MPH haha.

Before I deleted, my in-town average was around 16 MPG. Are you the original owner of the truck? Do you have a scangauge or OBD reader to see what your soot levels and EGTs are?

·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
not orgianil owner. Only had about a month. I do have a scanner, but its over at my in-laws right now. I'll be able to get back to it this weekend.

·
1,044 Posts
Sometimes there are diagnostic codes that don’t give a light on the dash that could be a symptom or a sign, so worth it to check those.

·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
No codes... green across the board. Wondering if bad diesel. Got it at a mapco because I was in a hurry. Mpg has been falling ever since. I use desire Kleen additive and it was helping get it back up, but keeps dropping

·
1,044 Posts
When’s the last time you changed fuel filters?

Peronally, I would change fuel filters, fill up on good quality fuel, add some diesel Kleen, and do an oil change. Then you have a baseline. But that’s just how I troubleshoot when I don’t have many symptoms.

·
18 Posts