Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had three Titans over the last 20 years but just got my first diesel. A 2016 XD PR 4x4 with just 23k miles. Overall I love this truck. But it does have a pretty serious lag at take off. I’ve seen some of these diesels on you tube that have been deleted and than sound and move like rocket ships. Could somebody speak to me on what this is all about because I’m new to this and really need help on understanding this! I’m sure the restrictions in California are much worse. Talk soon!

·
504 Posts
The primary relationship between diesel trucks that have big performance increases and diesel truck which have had their emissions equipment removed is that owners who are modifying their trucks to increase performance are also removing all the emissions equipment.

There are multiple ways to increase your truck's performance and response off the line that do not necessarily require removing all the emissions equipment. Reprogramming the ECU for higher performance, altering the manner the truck responds to throttle input, changing the turbo boost settings, improved free breathing induction, less restrictive exhaust, all can be achieved with most of the emissions equipment still in place.

Removing emissions equipment can provide even more free flowing exhaust and making working and operating the truck easier, for sure.

NOTE: Removing and/or defeating the emissions equipment is illegal, and many of the manufacturers of deletions kits and major shops that were doing the work have been prosecuted, fined, or had other actions taken against them.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
680 Posts