Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
450 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never driven a truck with an exhaust brake so I have no idea what one would sound like or feel like, but from my understanding diesels cannot naturally provide engine braking by design, so downshifting should not provide compression braking with out an exhaust brake correct?

When I have towed with a heavy load and tow mode engaged the moment I touch the brake it downshifts and provides considerable compression braking - Has anyone else experienced this?

From the development paper of the Holset M2 turbo it shows a flow diagram of the rotary valve stages. One of those stages is exhaust throttling. I am not a turbo designer and have limited working knowledge of them, but is this not the same thing as an exhaust brake? The image appears to show the rotary valve working as a restriction to exhaust flow in this mode.

For those that are more knowledgeable could you chime in here? Thanks.

Attachments

·
658 Posts
I have never driven a truck with an exhaust brake so I have no idea what one would sound like or feel like, but from my understanding diesels cannot naturally provide engine braking by design, so downshifting should not provide compression braking with out an exhaust brake correct?

When I have towed with a heavy load and tow mode engaged the moment I touch the brake it downshifts and provides considerable compression braking - Has anyone else experienced this?

From the development paper of the Holset M2 turbo it shows a flow diagram of the rotary valve stages. One of those stages is exhaust throttling. I am not a turbo designer and have limited working knowledge of them, but is this not the same thing as an exhaust brake? The image appears to show the rotary valve working as a restriction to exhaust flow in this mode.

For those that are more knowledgeable could you chime in here? Thanks.