Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

5.6 gas or 5.0 diesel for farm work truck?

• Diesel

Votes: 18 66.7%
  • Gas

Votes: 9 33.3%

• Total voters
  • This poll will close: .
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to move on from a 2010 f-150 with the 5.4. Lot of threads detailing the problems with the 5.0 cummins. Don't want to go from one engine prone to issues to another. I'm a farmer so I'm intimately acquainted with diesels but almost entirely in large equipment or trucks. Have always stuck with gasoline on the automotive side of things. Have used def on 2 engines. The first is a sprayer and it just works. The second was a truck with a detroit. On the first 5 hr trip the whole def filter system died. Had 580,xxx miles though. 4 digits to tow and dealer wanted 5 digits to replace so the def disappeared. Just for some background.

It looks to me like the egr system is prone to coolant leaks so all that would be going down the road if I purchased one. I'm reading that the engine thermostat could be changed also. Anything else to be concerned about? Tunes still available? 2016s ok or stick with 2017-19? It will mostly be used unloaded. Some trailer towing and some heavier things(10k+) a couple times a year. I've been interested in the XD concept since they came out but haven't been shopping until now. Diesel worth it or go with the 5.6 gasser? Ford has somewhat dampened my enthusiasm for DOHC V8s but I'm open to some opinions. I'm 2 hours from a Nissan dealer which is about twice the distance of other dealers.

·
1,027 Posts