Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie truck owner angling to pick up some tips from the pros so am signing up today. "Hi, everybody."

Got lucky, my local dealer found the exact Titan XD I was looking to buy in another dealer's lot in CT so I didn't have to wait 3/mos - like my wife did to get her Toyota in the color she wanted. He even knocked off a few thou from list (thank you, TrueCar.)

Mine is a white Pro 4X with pretty much all the options, picked up a 20' enclosed car trailer from Elkhart, IN and hauled it back home to Long Island, NY. That was a 1,500 mile trip and I got to find out the Titan XD is a really capable, quiet and quite comfortable long distance cruiser. I have zero experience in towing so nothing to compare to but the truck seemed to not be bothered by what was behind it.

Not all went smoothly, though. I had just picked up the trailer when the yellow check engine light went on - and my heart sank. This is by far THE most expensive vehicle I have ever purchased and the choice was not easy - whose ads do you believe: Ford, Chevy, Ram? And now I'm looking at a - failed engine? I had checked all fluids before I left, all gauges and temps were fine, no warnings in the instrument messageboard, no leaks that I could see, no smoke and no smells to indicate anything was malfunctioning so I had to conclude it was a false alarm.