Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a new Plat Res, but I want more of the line. Should I chip it? Are there any available? I'm also new to the diesel, so are there any basic bolt-ons I should start of with, ie k&n, air inductions, etc?

·
1,979 Posts
Just bought a new Plat Res, but I want more of the line. Should I chip it? Are there any available? I'm also new to the diesel, so are there any basic bolt-ons I should start of with, ie k&n, air inductions, etc?
Do you want more HP or would you rather have a intact warranty? The best thing you could do is leave it alone. Also, Bolt-ons are a waste of money & time as far as making more HP on modern vehicles.
The best thing you could do is take some time & learn how to drive it & give the transmission some time to learn how you want it driven.

·
Premium Member
1,576 Posts
What he said^^^^^

No one really has anything out yet for it anyhow.

Once it breaks in, it improves alot. Nissan won't turn a blind eye to mods since it's so new

·
167 Posts
What ATC said. Not much available yet as it is still so new. However I will say that now that I've put some miles on it and learned how to drive it, I'm no longer finding it slow. Something to be said for not stomping on the pedal in this truck as quicker acceleration seems to be with gradual application of gas in coordination with the truck boost pressures. I think the large turbo doesn't get a chance to spool and the gate closes off the small turbo if the truck pedal is hammered down and its a dog. My truck gets moving along nicely now that I've figured out better how to get the most out of it.

·
124 Posts
I completely agree cmac!

You need to press the accelerator as the turbo spools up. Once you figure this out she has plenty of power. Im not saying I wouldn't like to have more, but definitely plenty for a stock configuration.

·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #7