Nissan Titan XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've had my Titan XD for nearly a year now. On a number of other forums (boating, shooting, etc) I keep reading how we'll never get 300k miles out of these trucks due to DPF, etc. "Just a bad decision to buy this truck".

I went and did as much reading as I could to educate myself as to WHY it is that people say this, and I'm not coming up with an answer. I certainly don't consider myself a gearhead, but I am an engineer by trade, so I can logically assess a situation and come up with an answer if I do my research.

So let's begin.

My history with Nissan goes back five vehicles: two Altima, an Armada, a Maxima, and now my Titan. In none of these vehicles did I experience any major problems that weren't self-inflicted (wife drove over a curb in her '98 Maxima in 2010 and did some underside damage. We just traded it in on a 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland). The Armada performed magnificently everywhere except at the pump. The Altimas were flawless. So Nissan - the platform - was without problems.

Cummins is considered by many to be the Gold Standard of diesel engines. They've been around for nearly one hundred years. With the exception of two 5.9L engines (the "53 Block" and the "Killer Dowel Pin" that occurred between 1988-2002) their engines have been bulletproof (or so I've read). So I believe it's fair to say that they have a history of making reliable Diesel engines. The 5.0L engine was supposedly nine years in the making, and is a completely revolutionary design, making more use of a CGI block, newly designed turbocharger that is more fuel efficient, and better emissions control - which I understand is a bone of contention with many - but the government mandated it so we're stuck.